UDBHAV: The National Debate Competition- YUVA 2010

Topic: "Social Entrepreneurship & Its Efficacy Reducing Unemployment"

A National debate on ‘Social Entrepreneurship & Its Efficacy Reducing Unemployment’ was organized in G.B.P.U.A. & T, Pantnagar on January 23rd and 24th with participants from 14 universities from across the country. Inaugurating the debate Vice-Chancellor Dr. B.S. Bisht emphasized on the importance of Communication and Social awareness among the university youth to combat million crises facing the society. The Chief Guest, Dr. M.P. Singh, Executive Chairmen, Sulabh International expressed confidence that such discussions will load to a broader understanding of entrepreneurship and increased confidence for the participants. Dr. B. Kumar, Director Communication discussed the urgent need for the development of soft skills amongst students. Dean Student Welfare, Dr. A.K. Karnatak shared the achievements of the university debating team on the occasion. Dr. G.K. Singh President V.S.M. & Dr. S.K. Kashyap, Staff Counsellor, Sanskritik Chetna Parishad also addressed.

Four sessions of intense debating and discussion continued with teams from Jania Milia Islamia, New Delhi, The Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar, Punjab Agriculture University NDRI, Karnal, BHU, Varanasi and other.Vice-Chancellor Dr. B.S. Bisht, Presided our valedictory function and informed about the university’s plan for training entrepreneurs and talked about the possible scientific interventions in the curricula to provide a launching pad for innovations. Chief guest Shri Ravi Sharma, Senior Editor, Dainik Jagran congratulated the participants and appreciated the ideals of social entrepreneurship among the educated youth. Sri Balraj Pasi, Chairman, Seed Certification Agency, Uttarakhand called for more spirited and motivated efforts such as Yuva 2010 to promote both individual and social entrepreneurship. Dr. G.K. Singh, Dean College of Veterinary and Animal Science. Dean Student welfare applauded the V.S.M. volunteers for their efforts. Following were the results of the competition:

Individual Prizes
1st Prize: Vibhuti Bahuguna : College of Agriculture, GBPUAT
2nd Prize: Ramprakash Sharma : Banaras Hindu University (BHU)
3rd Prize: Hitesh Beherani : Devi Ahillya University , Indore
Consolation: Goldi Tewari : G. B.Pant University , Pantnagar

Team Prizes:
Best Team: Banaras Hindu University (BHU)
Runners Up: Devi Ahillya University


<< Back